Late Night Musings

szPCEGE18pFor the past few weeks I’ve been trying to look ‘inside myself’ to figure out who I really am, and what made me become the person I am today. While doing this, I tried to think of one single moment that must have impacted me the most, but I finally came to realize that it’s so much more than that. It’s not just one moment that defines you, or that explains who you are. It’s a host of things – tons of moments, memories, experiences, and all of the people you meet. It’s things you feel, hear, touch, see, smell and taste. It’s things you know but can’t explain. It’s those little moments we fail to notice and let go of at the time, but come back to later and wish it could have been something more than just a little moment. It’s those time where you go against something your heart or your head tells you, and either hate yourself for it, or love yourself for it – the former being more likely, but hey, it counts as an experience right? It’s accepting that one fear that takes over your life and pushing it away so you can live your damn life. I feel like I’m going off on a tangent here – what I mean to say is, the person you are is made of so many different things that you cannot list out. It would probably take you years. So my point is, you can’t pick out just one moment that defines you. It’s millions of moments and everything that comes with it, and this is something that we often forget.

A lot of things have happened over this year. Just half the year has gone by, and it’s already been more messed up than I can imagine. There’s been so much to deal with, so much to accept, so much to deny, so much to let go, and just so much to compromise – you’re no stranger to it, I’m sure. I think that during these moments of weakness, when we just feel so low that we feel like there’s no coming back – or we just don’t want to come back – we tend to forget everything that’s made us happy. We tend to forget the things that make us smile, laugh, hug, kiss, and just breathe. We forget about the people around us who offer us their hearts to keep and their love to share. It’s so important to remind ourselves of these things, and more so that each and every one of us deserves these things. We deserve to be loved, to be hugged, kissed, to be laughed with. Talk to people who remind you of these things – I’m lucky to have found these people, who tell me that I’m beautiful, funny, and worthy of love. Find your people. And if you don’t, that’s okay, because I will be your person. I will tell you that you are beautiful, funny, kind, warm, and you deserve all the love and luck in the world.

No matter how down in the dumps you are, know that there is a reason for you to be happy, and that there is a reason for you to believe – though there may be negativity around you, know that it can be repelled and replaced by that positive light you know you have within you. Radiate. Shine. Be the beautiful human being you are. Don’t forget where you’re from, what you’re made of, and who you are. Your story is just as important as anyone else’s so don’t stop building it! Count every single tiny moment that you experience and don’t let it go. Don’t go back to it and wish it could have been something more. Embrace the moment and do the best you can with it.

With the hope that I haven’t been annoyingly preachy, I’ll end here, and just leave you with this – you never know what’s going to happen next, so do the best you can now.

 

 

Leave a comment